Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Aniblog Tourney

Hello everyone, especially those of you visiting my site for the first time from the Aniblog Tourney.  Welcome to Ashita no Anime—or if you prefer the English equivalent, “Tomorrow’s Anime.”  My name is Alexander.  I’d like to take a moment to introduce myself and properly explain my motivation for writing this blog as well as the goals I hope to accomplish through my work.

I’m currently an English teacher living and working in Japan.  I started watching anime seriously in 2003—so I’ve been a fan for nearly 9 years now.  I mark that year as my introduction to anime because prior I didn’t really know what anime was.  Unlike a lot of anime fans I didn’t grow up with this media so my opinions tend not to be colored by nostalgia and my tastes in anime are incredibly broad (if you care to check out my viewing history on My Anime List you can see that I’m more than willing to watch just about anything).  I was president of my university’s anime club for 2 years and I graduated with a technical communication degree.  This gives me some professional legitimacy for being a writer and a critic because I have received training in this kind of background (for those of you who actually care about that sort of thing, because I’ll be the first to admit that writing is more about practice than any amount of education).

Now then…why did I start writing this blog?  Well, to make a long story short it’s because I couldn’t find another aniblogger who shared my tastes and opinions on anime.  I found myself disagreeing constantly with the opinions and legitimizations of other critics and so I decided that it was time to throw my hat into the ring and stand up for underrepresented fans like me.  I aspire to a higher standard than lowering myself to degrading anyone else with personal attacks or insinuating that my opinions are the only valid ones.  Really, I think the majority of media review can be summed up as personal taste.  There’s more than one correct answer and dissenting opinions are always welcome as long as they can be supported.  It’s also a part of my goal to promote conversation and for that it’s important to have someone at the table who has a genuine views contrary to mainstream for the purpose of creating intellectual debate.

I continue to write this blog for many reasons, but my main motivation is because it’s fun.  I’ve always enjoyed writing and sharing my ideas with others.  Despite the fact that I primarily only do reviews on this site, I’ve been able to connect with some great people who—even if we vehemently disagree with each other—understand and appreciate our mutual differences.  My other primary goal is to provide a place where people can read short and concise reviews of anime of all genres without getting dragged into a long editorial that takes too much time; bogging itself down with too many graphics or padded language. As a small side project I’m currently working on providing some resources to fans who can’t read Japanese for the Precious Memories trading card game, but so far I’ve limited that portion of the site to the Madoka Magica setlist translations.

If you’ve made it to the end of my unusually long-winded spiel thanks for your patience and interest in Ashita no Anime.  I’d love to hear your opinions and advice for how to make my work better.  If you like what you see and want to support my objectives be sure to subscribe both to this blog site as well as my twitter account and be sure to vote for me in the Aniblog tourney.  Lastly, I’d like to give a shoutout to my biggest supporter, TWWK.  Go check out his blog and give him some votes in the next round of the tournament.  Thanks and have a great day!

2 responses to “Aniblog Tourney

  1. TWWK April 23, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    Thanks for the kind words, and good luck! :)

  2. kazuhir0 April 25, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    Good luck Alexander!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

