Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (5/13 – 5/19)

Anime of the Week – Acchi Kocchi
I don’t know that I’ve ever applied this word to an anime before, but I think the best way to describe Acchi Kocchi is “precious.”                                
May 13 Accel World Ep. 6 For all of Haruyuki’s talent, it’s a terrific character flaw to see that he still has the shortsightedness of a newbie.
Black Lagoon Ep. 4 Some of the story ideas for this anime are really off the wall, but at least they manage to keep things interesting.
Black Lagoon Ep. 5 You don’t have to explain everything, but some details can’t be overlooked—like why there is air in a sunken ship.
Fate/Zero Ep. 19 This is the kind of story I was hoping to see more of in this series. Not the predictable stuff that hogs so much time.
May 14 Eureka AO Ep. 4 I think the strength of this series is how it’s honest and doesn’t put up any pretenses. The story is all it needs.
C3 OVA While delightfully off-canon as most OVAs are, it also fails to recapture the series’ spirit. At least it manages to be lighthearted.
May 15 Black Lagoon Ep. 6 I can’t tell if this was just an unlucky job or the start of some larger plot arc that is slowly revealing itself.
Acchi Kocchi Ep. 6 This anime succeeds again at putting charming twists on some stereotypical school drama scenes. It’s an adorable romance.
May 16 Sankarea Ep. 6 “Give me freedom or give me death,” is a simple enough theme and associating death with freedom is a really cool concept.
Jormungand Ep. 6 After the opening battle I had a funny thought that all cargo ships rounding the southern end of Africa should hire Koko.
May 17 Hyouka Ep. 4 I like mysteries, but this was a little too information heavy. The hesitation at the end also indicates this isn’t over.
Ladies vs Butlers Ep. 1 Somewhere I’d heard good things about this anime, but it’s a poster-child for what happens when ecchi goes too far.
Tasogare Otome Ep. 3 This anime’s playfulness combined with the way it makes light of its darkness makes it both fun and insightful.
May 18 Sankarea Ep. 7 This review of Chihiro’s history with Ranko would have been a lot less interesting if it wasn’t for his zombie mania.
Eureka AO Ep. 5 It’s pretty clear that Ao is in the process of finding himself. But what intrigues me most is Generation Blue’s motives.
Tasogare Otome Ep. 4 I’m impressed by how well this anime transitions from playful to serious without skipping a beat. It’s beautiful.
May 19 Accel World Ep. 7 Is this episode about camaraderie or about learning to forgive yourself? Either way, it was a little too sentimental.
Acchi Kocchi Ep. 7 Well-scripted timing of romantic humor is definitely this series’ best asset. If you like moe this is a must watch.

*You could have read these mini-reviews in real time as I updated my status by following me on Twitter.

3 responses to “Anime of the Week (5/13 – 5/19)

  1. TWWK May 21, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    You mentioned that Acchi Kocchi was great this week – sorry I didn’t get to reply (weekends are 99% about the kids). I’m a little down on Accel World, which might leave me one other anime to pick up – I’m considering Acchi Kocchi (I only watched half of one episode, intending to come back to it) or Natsuiro Kiseki (dropped after one episode, but people keep raving about it), or returning to Hyouka (I dropped it after several episodes, but I glean that the mystery unveiled is pretty intense?).

    • Marlin-sama May 21, 2012 at 11:32 pm

      I couldn’t figure out what Natsuiro Kiseki was about after its first episode and I didn’t find any of the characters to be the least bit likeable, so that’s not something I’m going to be reconsidering. Accel World is slowing down after its big, splashy debut which is a little disappointing. Hyouka continues to impress with its well-written mystery style. Sankarea turned out to have more unnecessary ecchi in it than I’d originally suspected. Eureka Seven AO is a good, solid shounen anime that knows exactly what it’s doing. Fate/Zero had two good episodes dealing with Kiritsugu’s backstory, but now it’s back to boring predictability. Medaka Box and Kore wa Zombie 2 are weird and fun.

      Right now, the three anime this spring that are fighting for my attention are Jormungand, Tasogare Otome and Acchi Kocchi. Jormungand has some very intellectual characters and its smartly-written action scenes are blowing my mind. As almost a perfect contrast to that style, Acchi Kocchi is feeding me some of the sweetest comedic romance I’ve had the pleasure of watching in a very long time. Tasogare Otome is just really unique. It has a really fresh premise and the characters’ personalities and actions are very well coordinated. It can be a bit ecchi at times, but never to the fanservicey degree of Sankarea. So those are my recommendations in no particular order—Jormungand, Acchi Kocchi, Tasogare Otome and if you like mystery Hyouka.

      • TWWK May 22, 2012 at 12:02 am

        I might definitely have to revisit Acchi Kocchi.

        And I just thought I’d mention that, again, you are quite different from most anibloggers. There seems to be a general consensus that the backstory episodes of Fate/Zero were weak (though I enjoyed them thoroughly) and everyone is happy to get back to the present time. I’ve been enjoying every single minute of the show.

        I’ve also been liking Eureka 7 Ao – perhaps more than you, maybe because the tone of the show (and particularly of its predecessor) is unlike any other I’ve watched, in a warm, quirky, complex, bold kind of way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

