Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ep. 1

Initial impression – youthful silliness vs mature rationality

Autumn 2012 (12 episodes) (English title – Regardless of My Adolescent Delusions of Grandeur, I Want a Date!, title literal translation – I was Sick, but Now I Want Love!) (more info)

A boy named Yuuta Togashi has abandoned his childhood fantasy just in time to meet a girl his age named Rikka Takanashi who hasn’t yet given up her own.  While I find the premise of Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! interesting, there’s a self-conscious part of me that can’t help but feel it’s making fun of me.  I’m aware of the stereotypes associated with pen & paper RPGs, but could this be how many throughout the world see the people who play D&D?  Because I can assure you that sane / mature tabletop RPG players don’t extend the fantasy world into their everyday lives.

Not even at a young age was I ever a witness to this kind of self-delusion or desire to be special.  But when I think about it, as a child, who hasn’t seriously thought about what his/her life might be like if such an unlikely development could be made a reality?  So in this way, I think Chuunibyou is touching on some very honest topics about childhood, growing up and how our perception of the world and of ourselves changes during that process.

In some ways this series puts me in mind of a more playful Denpa Onna.  The heroine is trapped in the belief that she has superpowers and contact with outside forces and it’s the protagonist’s job to bring her back to reality.  Only this time, the hero can relate to the leading lady’s predicament since he’s already gone through the transition away from his childhood delusion on his own.  As concepts for quirky girls go, Chuunibyou has a charm to it that has caught my attention without being completely batty.  And then, by the end of the first episode, there’s already a conflict of desires between the protagonists as each vies for the legitimacy of his and her respective lifestyle—needless to say it looks like a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

