Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Girls und Panzer Ep. 1

Initial impression – really silly, but surprisingly insightful

Autumn 2012 (12 episodes) (more info)

This is one of those premises that just defies belief that anyone could have come up with it and actually believed it was a viable idea for an anime.  I went into this first episode with the lowest of expectations, but somehow it actually turned out to be not half bad. Its charm lies in the degree to which nearly everything about this show requires a massive suspension of disbelief.

To take something as masculine as tank warfare and completely feminize it with such a straight face is really impressive.  I’ve always been a firm supporter of equality and opportunity for both genders, but I have to say it’s an uncomfortable feeling having my cultural and innate preconceptions about the roles of men and women turned upside down so thoroughly.  And for some reason I find that to be strangely enthralling.  I’m already finding myself settling in and rolling along with the friendly characters who also happen to feel really eager to see what’s going to happen next.  When something this wacky manages to get through my filter of skepticism with good writing, pacing and acting you can bet I’m going to give it a closer look.

2 responses to “Girls und Panzer Ep. 1

  1. TWWK October 12, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    I was definitely not planning on watching this one, but now, maybe I’ll check it out.

  2. medievalotaku October 14, 2012 at 1:51 am

    I have to second TWWK’s comment. This is the second positive review I’ve seen for this series. Initially, I had intended to watch it for the tank battles, but was dissuaded from doing so by the rather lame trailer. Now, it’s on my to watch list again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

