Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Sukitte Ii na yo Ep. 1

Initial impression – wistful compassion (4/10)

Autumn 2012 (13 episodes) (English translation – Say “I Love You”) (more info)

A wise man once gave me some advice that I really took to heart because of how applicable it was to my life.  He said, “For the longest time I had this ill-conceived image about romance that someone would come along and rescue me from my loneliness.  And that just doesn’t happen.  If you want romance, you have to pursue it yourself.”  And this is the incorrect message I think Sukitte Ii na yo is sending to young people.  If you don’t have any friends or if you want romance in your life, all you have to do is wait for it to come to you—and that simply doesn’t happen.  I should know, I spent all of high school and college stuck in that mindset and it got me precisely nowhere.

Mei Tachibana’s cold and aloof personality could never attract even the kindest person to reach out to her, especially when she lashes back at the slightest hint of attention directed at her.  Simply put, people like Yamato Kurosawa don’t exist.  While it’s a nice story of open altruism that I’m sure many wish could be true, despite its efforts to be heartwarming and real, this anime only succeeds in being idealistic and fake.

One response to “Sukitte Ii na yo Ep. 1

  1. TWWK October 24, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    Hmm…it’s kind of moved in a little different direction from the first episode. Slightly. Also, I don’t think it’s clear whether Kurosawa’s motives are altruistic – he’s definitely portrayed as a player, though the series hasn’t cast judgment on his ways yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

