Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai (last thoughts)

Final impression – stretched 7/10

Spring 2011 (Alternate titles – Ano HanaWe Still Don’t Know the Name of the Flower We Saw That Day)

Jinta, a high school dropout, is being visited by the ghost of his childhood friend, Menma.  At first, all of Jinta and Menma’s childhood friends think he’s just still obsessing over losing her all those years ago.  But little by little, they realize that Jinta’s loss was their loss, too.  As they finally begin to come to grips with the reality of their traumatic childhood, the friendships they left behind several years ago are renewed.  But through all of this camaraderie and healing, Menma remains invisible to everyone but Jinta.  It’s not understood why he’s the only one who can see her, but it is clear that the reason she has returned is because she has some unfinished business that needs to be taken care of.

For me, Ano Hana just has a feeling of having way too much content that doesn’t move the plot forward.  Admittedly, that feeling is probably unavoidable because it’s necessary to develop the characters and their backstories to make their actions and opinions understandable.  But unavoidable or not, the fact remains that Ano Hana leaves the impression of being artificially lengthened, which is weird because it’s short to begin with.  This feeling is especially strong as the anime concludes because everyone starts spilling all their pent up emotions in the space of only a few episodes.  But again, this is another facet that feels naturally understandable and unavoidable, so I feel a little bad complaining about it.  All things considered, while the ending is certainly heartwarming, it’s predictable and anticlimactic.

6 responses to “Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai (last thoughts)

  1. tsurugiarashix August 8, 2011 at 1:23 am

    I have to agree with artificially lengthened point. It did seem along for a series around 11 episodes. However, when dealing with content of that nature, it was not a failing point to me, even if it did tend to meander.

  2. feal87 August 8, 2011 at 4:54 am

    More than artificially lengthed I would say that the drama is too much forced in the last bit of the series to be picked up as serious. Just that!

    (Oh, congratulation on the creation of this relatively new blog. Hope you’ll continue to manage it!)

  3. アレクザンダー August 8, 2011 at 7:51 am

    Here’s something interesting I recently discovered. Maybe it’s old news for everyone besides me, but the ending theme for Ano Hana isn’t new or even original. It was originally used as the ending theme for the first three episodes of Kyou no Go no Ni TV. Here’s a link to a sample – http://youtu.be/eBsdm9XADmQ

  4. Snippett August 8, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Agreed that this is anticlimatic. I also didn’t like the over-dramatization of angst and jealousy in this series. However, overall I think it is a pretty decent anime and is heart-warming.

  5. Overlord-G August 22, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    You pretty much know my thoughts on it so I need not repeat myself. I said it before and I’ll say it again, this is a show that defies rating. Whether you liked it or not, it’s undeniably a show of epic proportions. It handled its drama much better than Yumekui Merry did but you already know that.

    • アレクザンダー August 22, 2011 at 6:54 pm

      I’m not sure what you mean when you say Ano Hana defies rating…because I rated it a 7/10. =P I definitely liked it, but I don’t think it was executed very well. It’s hard to explain exactly why I couldn’t rate it higher…but to put my feelings into an oxymoron, it was complicatedly simple. Too much dilly-dallying around with stuff I don’t care about, especially. It had a lot of great moments and it was worth the watch, but I’m likely to forget about it soon.

Leave a Reply

