Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Persona 4 The Animation Ep. 1

Initial impression – good, but squeezed

Autumn 2011 (12 episodes) (more info)

I seriously can’t believe that the very unpolished Persona Trinity Soul got 26 episodes but the amazing work that is Persona 4 has to be mashed into only 12.  I played Persona 4 on PS2 and it’s a long game.  It takes upwards of 60 hours to savor the deep story and get a good play-through without missing too much.  At this point, I just can’t see how it can possibly work that Persona 4 The Animation is going to be truly appreciated with the short amount of time that’s going to be given to it.  Already in the first episode I’m seeing cuts have been made to crunch details into the space provided.  Now that I’ve got the bad news out of the way, I do have to say that it’s at least keeping nicely with the spirit of the video game as source material, especially in its music and comedy.  I’m going to make a prediction.  In three months time, when this season comes to a close, I’m going to give this anime a mediocre rating and then go tell you to play the game.

Leave a Reply

