Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Shakugan no Shana III Ep. 1

Initial impression – excited

Autumn 2011 to winter 2012 (24 episodes) (more info)

And so begins the final season of one of the greatest anime series.  Already in this first episode we have a wild twist that shakes up the ending to Shana II and allows for some wild speculation as to just what the future may hold.  It’s difficult to tell what’s going to happen or what the tone of this season will be compared to Shana I and II.  The drawing style and composition seem to lean towards a more Shana II style, but that may just be due to advances in animation technology since this all started back in 2005.  However, I can’t see how the plot could take the slow and boring route that Shana II‘s first half became infamous for.  The characters are just not set up to have time to be taking it easy.  At the same time, this new arrangement of motives and positions also has nothing in common with Shana I, either.  I think we’re looking at a whole new creation that’s going to watch very differently from any Shakugan no Shana that we’ve experienced thus far and I can’t wait to see more!

4 responses to “Shakugan no Shana III Ep. 1

  1. glothelegend October 8, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    This series is going to kick more ass than Bill the Ass-Kicker.

  2. FlameStrike October 8, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Does anyone know what happens to the Sakai x Shana pairing in Light Novel cannon so far? I’m a really huge fan of that ship, but all of the cock blocking and complete lack of progress in 2 seasons and 50+ episodes has worn my patience completely thin. The first season we get an absolute bullshit conclusion where Shana’s confession was herp derp retconed just to drag out the plot with more annoying wishy-washy uselessness.

    The second season was FILLED with Shana getting cock blocked. Hell, they even summoned a fucking TORNADO with it’s own SUPER POWERED Crimson Denizen at EXACTLY THE RIGHT MOMENT. This shit goes on all the way to the tease at the last ep, where they hint at you that MAYBE, MAYBE, Yuji FINALLY made a choice. (At this point I’d even settle for Yuji x ANYONE) Then in the first ep of season three they give Shana x Yuji fans a big F*CK you in the face.

    JC staff has a history of being absolutely fcktards with obvious pairings, see Zero no Tsukaima. It’s like they’re afraid of advancing the plot after establishing a pairing. Are they so short sighted that they believe that once a couple’s feelings become requited, there is no more potential for growth? That’s totally bull, just look at Clannad. The main pairing got together in one season and the story was one of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen. Or is it that JC staff is looking to milk money by keeping 3rd wheel Yoshida a “possible” pairing even though almost everyone knows it’s not going anywhere? Well, if it’s the fault of the source material then that’s more forgivable. JC staff did Toradora’s end properly after all.

    tl;dr

    Is there Shana x Yuji in the light novel? If there isn’t, then I won’t even bother to watch anymore since that’s the only worthwhile reason for me to watch this show. I can’t possibly put myself through the pain of another season of HERP DERP “I CONFESS BUT I DON’T”.

    • アレクザンダー October 8, 2011 at 5:50 pm

      I have not read the light novel, but I’ve been told by reliable sources that the anime’s source material is at fault for the lack of growth in the romantic sector, so don’t put the blame on J.C. Staff. Either way, I’m fairly certain this season is not going to be about romance in any form that resembles the two past seasons. It’s my impression both from my sources and from what I’ve seen in the first episode that Shana III is going to be about Shana trying to save Yuji from Bal Masque or otherwise bring him to his senses if he’s really and truly gone to the dark side.

      Other series besides Toradora that J.C. Staff did decently in the romance department include Ai Yori Aoshi, Kare Kano and Kimikiss (sort of). Zero no Tsukaima eventually did finally get the romantic pairing finished, but it took a while. Also as a heads-up, Zero no Tsukaima F (the fourth and last season) comes out in winter 2012. But to me, J.C. Staff has never been about its romance plots. I’m always interested in their animes’ concepts.

  3. FlameStrike October 8, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    Yeah I suppose I was a bit too harsh there. Part of the draw of the original Shana was the premise, although 80% of it was the adorable tsundere loli (for me at least). I do realize that the lack of progress relationship wise is probably due to the source material. Still, I can’t bring myself to accept the stagnation that was the 2nd season. Adorable tsundere loli can only bring you so far. The 2nd season should have had some more substance to it to fill the void. Too bad the only thing really good part was the Wilhelmina vs Sabrac fight. The anime they make often have good premises, but in Shana’s case they banked too much on the romantic comedy. If you’re going to do such a shoddy job in the romance department, why feature it so much? I would have loved some more Sabrac vs Wilhelmina quality fights in SnS II. Or some more interesting plot advancement. Ah well, all that’s left is to hope they can properly cram 20+ books into 1 final season of anime.

Leave a Reply

