Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Fate/Zero (ongoing)

Impression – superbly grand, but hampered by some problems

Autumn 2011 and spring 2012 (more info / part 2)

I’m of the opinion that a little more time could have been spent waiting to get the series released in one 24 episode block without this huge lapse in pace, especially when it ends on such a big cliffhanger.  Because Fate/Zero is a prequel, it also means that in order to keep consistency with canon, the story needs to conform to some rigid guidelines to fit what comes after.  Knowing that none of this is going to end well puts an emotional barrier between the viewer and a lot of the characters, prohibiting real attachment.  The result is that the viewer feels like an outside observer waiting for the inevitable, rather than wanting to get invested in something that’s ultimately going to be futile.  It’s sad because the new side characters are colorful and there’s a lot of spirit in their personalities.  But I don’t want to suggest that Fate/Zero is a waste of time.  It’s gorgeous and emotional, but also deeply thought provoking; delving into some really fun, dark corners of the human psyche.  The twisted personalities of Ryuunosuke and Caster manage to contort morality to match their own ambitions and that’s always an interesting exercise of mental gymnastics.  However, the fact that this survival game that is the Holy Grail War has thus far resulted in no casualties for the participants is a telling sign that the writers are pandering to the fanbase rather than thinking things through organically.  Fate/Zero is beautiful and epic to watch in the way that Type Moon always puts forward, but it’s not nearly as immersive as I’d hoped it would be.

One response to “Fate/Zero (ongoing)

  1. TWWK February 17, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    I really enjoyed the first season of the series, but I’m afraid I won’t enjoy the spring episodes as much because, without knowing how it’ll all end, I imagine the episodes will feel a bit rushed. I don’t mind not a whole lot happening in the first half, because I enjoyed almost very minute of it – I’d like about 36 episodes rather than 24.

    On another note, something strange happened – my RSS reader stopped following your posts. I was wondering why you hadn’t been posting before I realized that you had, as always – I just wasn’t getting them. I’m back on track now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

