Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Natsuiro Kiseki Ep. 1

Initial impression – I don’t follow (3/10)

Spring 2012 (12 episodes) (title literal translation – Summer-Colored Miracle) (more info)

Natsuiro Kiseki is yet another anime this spring season that can’t tell the viewers what it’s going to be about after the first episode.  A group of junior high school girls with a nice assortment of personalities who have been friends since elementary school are having an overly-dramatic crisis because one of them is moving to Tokyo so they gather together to make a wish on a big rock and they all end up floating in the sky for a few minutes in a daze before they go back to their former personalities and their separate ways.  Yeah, if it wasn’t for Natsuiro’s sharp, colorful art style I don’t think I could really find any redeeming features for this series’ opener because that’s one of the most disjointed sequences of events I’ve watched in a while.  I want to feel for these characters, to get involved in helping them solve their problems and to hope they can stay friends, but I’m much too baffled by what I’ve seen to care.  Mostly I’m having a hard time believing they were ever friends because despite being so close they don’t act very kindly toward one another.  In order to make their relationships more convincing I think there should have been a flashback episode to get everyone introduced properly before jumping right into the main conflict.  Whether Natsuiro is suffering from a rushed story, poor character concepts or simply a serious lack of focus, all I know is that I’m too confused to bother with it.

Leave a Reply

