Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (4/29 – 5/5)

Anime of the Week – Accel World
This week showed some really good shounen action with a proper balance of natural character growth and decisive vision to set up events to come.

(Obviously Black Lotus is a reference to the famously poweful Magic card of the same name but kudos to you if you know what real card Silver Crow is referencing without looking it up.)                               

April 29 Fate/Zero Ep. 17 My suspicions continue to be confirmed. This series continues to be as unsurprising as ever. I can predict everything.
Accel World Ep. 4 It seems unfair that just because you’re in a coma you can be attacked by another burst linker and completely defenseless.
April 30 Eureka AO Ep. 2 This series continues to emulate its parent while being true to itself—an ironic coincidence considering the main character.
May 1 Zombie 2 Ep. 2 A weird blend of deviant social discourse and slice of life. I don’t see what the merger of these two themes will accomplish.
May 2 Eureka AO Ep. 3 Is it when you’re young and simply don’t know better that you’re willing to take risks? Ao may be lost, but he has guts.
Hyouka Ep. 1 Initial impression – cleverly imaginative and well composed http://wp.me/p1Gaby-m8
Jormungand Ep. 4 Koko’s compassion towards her enemies is surprisingly gracious even for her, but I’m glad to see she’s not naive.
May 3 Kids on the Slope Ep. 3 I like Shinichiro Watanabe when he tells a more organized story and I prefer Yoko Kanno to play more powerful music.
What is there to like about Kids on the Slope? http://wp.me/p1Gaby-mz
Hyouka Ep. 2 When I watch this show time seems to mysteriously slow to a leisurely pace making the enjoyment feel longer than 25 minutes.
May 5 Accel World Ep. 5 Haruyuki is on a roll. Between revealing a new, unique power and reconciling with his friends his potential is growing.
Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan Ep. 1 Initial impression – aimless and silly (3/10) http://wp.me/p1Gaby-mG

*You could have read these mini-reviews in real time as I updated my status by following me on Twitter.

2 responses to “Anime of the Week (4/29 – 5/5)

  1. TWWK May 8, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Just a thought here, and I’ve mentioned it before, but despite commentary to the contrary on the Aniblog Tourney site, I think the “Anime of the Week” posts are very effective. They are mini-reviews that reach an audience you like Twitter-like reviews rather than longer ones, are attractively displayed in your table, and give us a snapshot insight into your personality. This has become among my favorite columns in the blogosphere.

    • Marlin-sama May 8, 2012 at 11:45 pm

      It’s weird. I might never have noticed that my initial version of this post had a bad typo in it. But your comment got me to reread it and it’s fixed now.

Leave a Reply

