Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (5/6 – 5/12)

Anime of the Week – Hyouka
This series is a terrific example of how to write a good mystery story. The key is to reveal just enough information to allow the viewers to piece some of the puzzle together on their own while not revealing so much that it becomes too easy.                                
May7 Fate/Zero Ep. 18 This is the kind of enlightening prequel material that I wanted to see more of in this series.
Acchi Kocchi Ep. 5 I really like the pace of this show so far. Changing the season from winter to spring seemed like appropriate timing.
Sankarea Ep. 5 This series started out with such a serious tone, but it’s been indulging in an unnecessary amount of fanservice recently.
Black Lagoon Ep. 1 I was told this series was like Jormungand so I decided to finally give it a watch, but I’m not seeing the similarities.
Black Lagoon Ep. 2 I’m starting to see the similarities to Jormungand in the action sequences that are often daringly over the top.
May 9 Jormungand Ep. 5 Jonah’s hate really is a tangible thing, but after what he’s been through I’m pleased to see it hasn’t consumed him.
Hyouka Ep. 3 I’m enjoying Oreki’s analytical perspective that gives me enough to figure out half of the mystery before the rest is revealed.
May 10 Black Lagoon Ep. 3 I’m not sure what to make of the tone of this series. They get ambushed but don’t miss a single beat. It’s too relaxed.
May 12 Accel World Ep. 6 For all of Haruyuki’s talent, it’s a terrific character flaw to see that he still has the shortsightedness of a newbie.

*You could have read these mini-reviews in real time as I updated my status by following me on Twitter.

2 responses to “Anime of the Week (5/6 – 5/12)

  1. Pingback: Anti-Social Geniuses Reference Resource Mondays « Organization Anti-Social Geniuses

  2. Pingback: » Anti-Social Geniuses Reference Resource Mondays

Leave a Reply

