Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

First Anniversary and Your Questions

It recently dawned on me that with the spring 2012 anime season about halfway over, there’s less than two months to go before Ashita no Anime’s first anniversary.  I have to say that I’m very pleased with myself for holding to my resolve to become more than just a consumer of anime and expand my passion into writing.

So as this blog turns one year old and after reflecting on my flop and the associated constructive criticism that came from the Aniblog tourney I’ve decided it’s time to seriously start expanding into other areas of discourse besides simple reviews.  I’ve done it a few times already with Vocaloid, Kids on the Slope and Katawa Shoujo but I need to keep pushing to see if there’s some unexplored, unclaimed territory that I can take for myself and find my unique niche.  Clearly, simply being the counterpoint to majority rule on a lot of anime isn’t enough (as much as I enjoy making my opinion heard).

So as old as this internet tradition is, to mark this milestone I want to address any questions my readers may have.  Please ask me anything you’re interesting in hearing me talk about or even personal questions to help you get to know more about me—keeping in mind that this is still an anime blog and I’ll be giving priority to any anime questions that come my way.  To give myself a deadline to shoot for I promise to write at least one answer post by May 26.  Ask away in the comments section below or if you want to keep out of the spotlight you can send me an email as well.

2 responses to “First Anniversary and Your Questions

  1. kluxorious May 17, 2012 at 9:35 am

    I have only found out about this blog through the tourney so I am not familiar with it at all. In that case, I have no question or suggestions. But congratulation for surviving the first year!

  2. laureninspace May 17, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    Congratulations on making it through the year! Now that you’ve established your blogging voice, it’ll only get easier from here.

    I think you should only start expanding beyond reviews if that’s what feels right for you. At the end of the day, your blog is yours and you should write about stuff you care about. For years, I’d get criticism for my blog—that it wasn’t anime-focused enough (from anime bloggers), or that it dealt with fandom too much (from journalism bloggers), but I’ve learned to ignore a lot of it because I’m writing what’s right for me. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

