Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Binbougami ga! Ep. 1

Initial impression – weird and scatterbrained (3/10)

Summer 2012 (13 episodes) (title literal translation – The God Of Poverty is!) (more info)

I’m fine with anime making references to other anime for comedic effect.  Hayate no Gotoku, Lucky Star and Pani Poni Dash did wonderfully with that method of humor.  But Binbougami seems to be throwing in references haphazardly and with such rapid succession I can’t get my head around the joke it’s trying to tell.

Ichiko flits between arrogant, whiny and magnanimous far too easily.

It’s almost as if this series is a sort of anti-Ah My Goddess where main character Ichiko is visited by the spirit of misfortune Momiji all for the sake of restoring the good luck she has accumulated throughout her life to a more normal level.  I’m sure a jaded misanthrope will find this premise of bringing down those who have experienced a large amount of success down to their level appealing to his or her sensibilities, but it’s not a very happy or even funny topic to use as the central premise for a comedy anime.  While it’s good to push the envelope and try to find new, exciting ideas, you’re bound to hit a few snags along the way and Binbougami is definitely one of those.

And if that wasn’t bad enough, talk about an art style that’s all over the place.  Maybe I’m just being overly superficial, but I think this anime is ugly.  I’m serious.  I don’t want to look at another second of this series filled with such unattractive people (some purporting to be blessed with good looks far exceeding the average person).  I’m sure there’s a crowd for this kind of random weirdness, and if you’ve read to the end of this review all the while calling me a snob in the back of your mind I imagine Binbougami will probably appeal to you.

Leave a Reply

