Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (12/30 – 1/5)

For the first time, I find myself unable to choose just one anime for my weekly honors. Given that we’re currently going through a slow time for anime as it was the break between seasons makes this decision even more significant. Additionally, I don’t feel that it’s fair to let a four-episode extravaganza hog the spotlight when another ongoing series managed to shine just as brightly.

Anime of the Week – Nekomonogatari & Shinsekai Yori
Koyomi and Tsukihi debate the finer points of love. The Monogatari series has consistently proven itself to be fertile ground for delving into philosophical conundrums while also providing a good laugh, but this iteration also manages to have a few heartwarming moments that touch strongly on the value of family.
Tomiko tells Saki about the importance of maintaining order in the world. Discretion may be the better part of valor, but sometimes it’s necessary to tenaciously pursue the truth with confidence, no matter where it may lead.
December 31 Jormungand PO Ep. 12 The series ends on a philosophical note, but feels empty because we don’t get to see the fruits of everyone’s labors.
January 2 Nekomonogatari Ep. 1 Nishio Ishin tells stories in a unique way. It takes a while to get to the point, but I feel smarter for the journey.
Nekomonogatari Ep. 2 Philosophical without being preachy. Beautiful without being garish. Erotic without being lecherous. Nicely balanced.
Kokoro Connect Ep. 14 I don’t buy into the theory that it’s a bad thing to hear people’s emotions. I find my inner monologue to be positive.
Kokoro Connect Ep. 15 I’m confused by all this. It frustrates me that I can’t interrogate Iori myself so I can figure out what’s going on.
January 4 Nekomonogatari Ep. 3 When Araragi saw that Hanekawa’s house had no place for her, his reaction was the most correct thing I’ve ever seen.
Nekomonogatari Ep. 4 How should we react to those stiflingly perfect paragons of humanity in the world? Jealousy? Worship? Hatred? Pity?
January 5 Shinsekai Ep. 14 I love when science fiction seamlessly mixes real science into the narrative of its setting and educates in the process.

*You could have read these mini-reviews in real time as I updated my status by following me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

