Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (3/31 – 4/6)

Anime of the Week – Girls und Panzer
Girls und Panzer is a great underdog story Usually I think I’d give the nod for anime of the week to two anime when one of the winners is out of season. But the other performers this week had such a poor showing compared to the cleverly orchestrated combat sequences full of passionate gusto and a show of terrific camaraderie of the ending for Girls und Panzer.
April 1 Maoyuu Ep. 12 Many others series this season did a great job wrapping up a story that in some ways felt ongoing. This one? Not so much.
Vividred Ep. 12 While it turned out better than I initially expected, I didn’t foresee myself wanting a more deeply constructed setting.
GJ-bu Ep. 12 This was one of those anime that created a distinct atmosphere about it that infused every second with pure awesomeness.
OreShura Ep. 13 I suppose I can write it off as Eita just being a good guy, but even when he tries to take a strong stance it backfires.
April 2 Panzer Ep. 11 I forgot why these last two episodes couldn’t have aired along with the rest of the series, but the wait was worth it.
Panzer Ep. 12 A brilliant underdog story that defied any notion of gender roles, with excellent, strategic battles and relatable characters.
Little Busters Ep. 25 What is it that Riki suspects about the world? Could it be how everything always seems to work out too perfectly?
April 3 Kotoura Ep. 12 While the anime ended on a good note with Kotoura having found her nerve, because life goes on, I really wanted more.
April 5 Devil Survivor 2 Ep. 1 Already cutting corners in the for-TV version, this is an example of why I don’t like knowing the source material.
April 6 Samurai Bride Ep. 1 Another sequel that doesn’t need to exist, but I’ll be watching it to listen to some of my favorite voice actresses.
Maou-sama Ep. 1 Every year seems to have a recurring theme among anime. Following Maoyuu, this time around it’s heroes and demon lords.
Aku no Hana Ep. 1 Maybe it’s trying to make some artistic expression, but this ugly anime with no clearly defined story is just bleh.
Photokano Ep. 1 The characters’ expressions don’t seem to match their words and the overflow of girls are showing shallow personalities.

*Keep up to date with my daily mini-reviews by following me on Twitter.

5 responses to “Anime of the Week (3/31 – 4/6)

  1. TWWK April 8, 2013 at 10:34 pm

    As usual, you and I differ. It looks to me like Aku no Hana is going to be something special (and probably disturbing).

    • Marlin-sama April 8, 2013 at 10:40 pm

      Yehhck. Bored out of my mind. I recommend ef – a tale of melodies if you want to watch something that’s artfully disturbing and actually has a story.

      • TWWK April 10, 2013 at 5:04 am

        And not surprisingly, I wasn’t much of a fan of ef – a tale of melodies, which I know is a favorite of yours!

    • medievalotaku April 9, 2013 at 10:49 pm

      I agree with Marlin-sama. Watch either season of ef or Serial Experiments Lain. Though, there is something curious about Aku no Hana; yet, the fact that I’m behind on so many shows renders it less tempting to me.

      • TWWK April 10, 2013 at 5:10 am

        I don’t think we’ll know much about the series until maybe 4-5 episodes in. I’m definitely intrigued at this point.

        It’s interesting that you bring up Lain – I think that’s a good comparison. I’ve watched Lain several times and I’m slowly rewatching it now – and I think I enjoy it now more than ever.

Leave a Reply

