Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Card of the Day

As the new Spring 2013 anime season begins, I find myself thinking about how I’ve been lacking in motivation for updating this site over the past few months.  I’ve decided that the problem lies with something of an identity crisis for Ashita no Anime.  I thought being the guy who disagrees with everyone (in a polite and civil manner of course) would be enough to get me noticed a bit more, but I’ve since realized that’s not nearly enough.

So I looked at my other passions and I realized the solution was much simpler than I’d made it out to be.  With Bushiroad announcing the release of Weiss Schwarz titles in English, I think it’s about time someone starting pulling for Precious Memories to start getting more exposure in America and the rest of the English-speaking world.  The Precious Memories site now updates every day with new cards from the upcoming sets and I’m going to make it my task to give the world the English translation.

I’m not abandoning reviewing anime, though.  I still enjoy writing analytical pieces on series I love and hate, so my efforts to push into TCG territory are only an expansion of this blog and not a change in theme or style.  So without any more rambling, I give you my first card of the day.

Card of the Day – Girls und Panzer
Miho Nishizumi - Precious Memories - Card of the Day Miho Nishizumi (01-004)

Cost: 4 Source: 2 AP: 30 DP: 30

When you attach a set card named 「Panzer IV Ausf. D」 to this card, draw 2 cards.

When you play this card, search your deck for a card named 「Panzer IV Ausf. D」, reveal it and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your deck.

Types: Gym Uniform / Way of the Tank

Thoughts and comments
Assuming the Girls und Panzer title doesn’t have a card that provides 4 source to “Way of the Tank” type characters, this is still likely to be a good deal depending on how much the set card costs. Certainly if 「Panzer IV Ausf. D」 is a 0 cost set card (like the majority of set cards up to this point) then this card is capable of paying for itself right there plus gaining the effects of the set card’s text. Really it’s all going to depend on how much the set card is going to cost if the benefits are fitting for the effect, because otherwise that’s a lot of investment in a single character card.

Leave a Reply

