Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Friday Cards of the Day

Girls und Panzer
Precious Memories - Girls und Panzer - Miho Nishizumi Miho Nishizumi (01-001)

Cost: 4 Source: 2 AP: 20 DP: 20

When you play this card, the cost of the next <Way of the Tank> character you play this turn is -4.

[Main/Both]: {REST} Choose 1 of your <Way of the Tank> characters. Until end of turn, that character gets +X/+Y where X is this character’s AP and Y is this character’s DP.

Types: School Uniform / Way of the Tank

Thoughts and comments
The first ability is good, but 4 cost is too much for a 20/20 body. While there might be some way to take advantage of the second ability, I don’t know what that might be. Not useless, but certainly not good. but you’ll need a perfect hand to pull it off. The second ability means this card is going into your support area and I’m not the biggest fan of support cards that cost 4. Giving +20/+20 or more to one of your characters is nothing to scoff at, but a well-prepared defender ought to be able to handle it.
Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate
Precious Memories - Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate - Chisato Sumiyoshi & Satsuki Shinonome Chisato Sumiyoshi & Satsuki Shinonome (01-017)

Cost: 5 Source: 1 AP: 40 DP: 50

When this character approaches and deals damage to your opponent, draw 2 cards.

When this character approaches and your opponent plays a character, you may ready a character.

Types: School Uniform

Thoughts and comments
Good size for the cost and a good first ability and a decent second ability. Nothing really to complain about.

Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate
Precious Memories - Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate - Michiru Morishita Michiru Morishita (01-053)

Cost: 3 Source: 2 AP: 40 DP: 30

[Main/Own]: {0} Choose 1 of your characters. When that character approaches and deals damage to your opponent, draw 2 cards. When the chosen character approaches and your opponent plays a character, you may return a character with the same name as the chosen character from your trash to your hand.

Types: School Uniform

Thoughts and comments
A really good support ability at a cost and on a body that’s not really worth it.
Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate
Precious Memories - Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate - Satsuki Shinonome Satsuki Shinonome (01-057)

Cost: 4 Source: 1 AP: 30 DP: 30

When one of your opponent’s characters becomes rested, this card gets +10/+10 until end of turn. You may activate this ability any number of times each turn.

When your opponent plays a character, choose 1 of your opponent’s characters. It gets -20/-20 until end of turn.

Types: School Uniform

Thoughts and comments
A very good defensive character that’s capable of ruining your opponent’s strategy with a big attacker they were counting on. Probably not so good on the attack, though.
Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate
Precious Memories - Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate - Chisato Sumiyoshi Chisato Sumiyoshi (01-002)

Cost: 1 Source: 2 AP: 30 DP: 30

When a character with the same name or type as this character approaches, that character gets +10/+10 until end of turn.

Types: Swimsuit

Thoughts and comments
A very big body for the cost of this character and a decent ability, too. I’d play this in either my main area or support area as a free boost every approach phase.

6 responses to “Friday Cards of the Day

  1. Whitzwolf May 22, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    In regards to Miho, I have found that card of extreme use as its ability to boost one of your characters before their approach can make them rethink their strategy. Also the -4 cost is very nice to chain play other characters, I’ve found myself often chaining 3 or more characters together for only that 4 cost.

    • Marlin-sama May 22, 2013 at 6:06 pm

      Oh thanks for commenting. I made a mistake on the translation for Miho’s second ability. I’ve corrected it.

      I haven’t played a Girls und Panzer deck myself, but I’ve played against a few and I’ve found them to be rather slow. My Squid Girl deck can run circles around GuP. The dominant deck right now is Rin/Ren from Hatsune Miku and from what I’ve seen of KoiChoco, that’s unlikely to change anytime soon.

  2. Whitzwolf May 22, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    Yes I’m still constantly changing my Panzer deck as I haven’t won a game yet, come close though (5-6 points >_<) but that's probably more due to my lack of skill. A friend of mine is using a Panzer deck designed around the Yellow Cosplay cards and it seems to work very well, unfortunately I do not really have enough cards to make it viable, at least 3 of each makes an easy set up.

    • Marlin-sama May 22, 2013 at 6:54 pm

      Good luck with that. I know from personal experience that if you value winning, you don’t always get to play with the characters you love. That sometimes means you have to swallow your pride a bit and humble yourself enough to look at what really works in terms of game mechanics rather than aesthetics. For me, that set was Madoka, one of the weakest titles in Precious Memories right now (that’s hopefully going to be getting A LOT stronger next month). But of course, always play the game the way you have the most fun.

      I don’t want to make any assumptions about what you may or may not know about this site’s content, but Ashita no Anime is no longer the place for reading my Precious Memories updates, so please go and subscribe to my new blog, Approach Phase http://approachphase.wordpress.com/ if you want to stay current.

  3. Whitzwolf May 22, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    Yeah just play for fun, and every game I have played has been fun🙂
    Watching Girls und Panzer got me into Precious Memories so that’s what I’ll work with.
    And thank you for linking me to your new blog, I shall keep updated from now on!

    • Marlin-sama May 22, 2013 at 7:05 pm

      Approach Phase is still a work in progress, so if it seems like it’s a little sparse at the moment, please give me some time. I do card of the day updates, but I have a lot of projects both here on Ashita and on Approach Phase.

Leave a Reply

