Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (4/21 – 4/27)

Anime of the Week – Suisei no Gargantia
Led says "Thank you" Although different civilizations the…universe…over may have different degrees of right and wrong, there are some basic rules of morality that all societies must adhere to in order to function. It would be difficult to imagine a successful world where everyone constantly stole from and killed one another. We can attain greater accomplishments by working together and building trust.                              
April 21 HenNeko Ep. 2 Though their actions are by no means delicate or sophisticated, there’s more to these characters than I’d initially expected.
Date a Live Ep. 3 Is the moral of the story how if we all focused on loving each other instead of hurting, the world would be peaceful?
April 22 Gargantia Ep. 3 It’s good to know that telling the good guys from the bad guys by their social constructs transcends language and culture.
April 23 Attack on Titan Ep. 3 There’s no greater confidence booster than realizing you no longer need to rely on others to accomplish your dream.
OreImo 2 Ep. 3 This is the kind of dull backstory for a side character I’d expect to see as a bonus episode in the BD extras.
Devil Survivor 2 Ep. 3 The events aren’t adding up and I’m not sure if the anime is mixing stories from the game or making a new one.
Crime Edge Ep. 2 Like in C^3, I find the concept of two curses which are individually harmful, but together balance out to be very poetic.
April 24 Crime Edge Ep. 3 To be so dependent on someone else’s existence that you couldn’t live without that person…isn’t love a kind of sickness?
Muromi-san Ep. 1 Why Yukari Tamura, why? Why do you lend your wonderful vocal talents to weird anime and compel me to watch them?
April 25 Mushibugyo Ep. 1 Every anime season sees one or two new shonen action series for kids that I’m comfortable dismissing as, “not for me.”
Leviathan Ep. 1 Anime with cat girls, bunny girls and every animal in between are per the norm, but rarely do I see one with dragon girls.
April 26 Samurai Bride Ep. 3 This series always had a harem bent, so I guess season two is just finishing up the roster. I can live with that.
April 27 Maou-sama Ep. 4 When we fail to understand others’ circumstances, we end up making unfounded assumptions to the detriment of all involved.
Railgun S Ep. 3 I wish they weren’t telling the sisters story because we already know the ending from Index and that takes away suspense.
Crime Edge Ep. 4 I love how there’s a poetic symmetry of relationships for every character—a black and a white like the keys of a piano.
Date A Live Ep. 4 Stories that twist dating-sim logic into reality aren’t always silly. Sometimes they highlight what the games get right.

*Keep up to date with my daily mini-reviews by following me on Twitter.

2 responses to “Anime of the Week (4/21 – 4/27)

  1. japesland April 30, 2013 at 11:53 am

    “Devil Survivor 2 Ep. 3 The events aren’t adding up and I’m not sure if the anime is mixing stories from the game or making a new one.”

    I am SO glad I’m not the only one. This series has got me downright confused… and not in a good way!All these characters being introduced and supposedly killed off. I don’t even know what’s going on anymore (wait, I’m not sure I ever knew what was going on in the first place…).

    “Crime Edge Ep. 4 I love how there’s a poetic symmetry of relationships for every character—a black and a white like the keys of a piano.”

    Yes! This series has got me hooked. I was hesitant to watch it at first because, frankly, it seemed weird, but the atmosphere of the series is simply stunning. I absolutely adored the character relationships that occur in pairs. Such an interesting premise!

    “Leviathan Ep. 1 Anime with cat girls, bunny girls and every animal in between are per the norm, but rarely do I see one with dragon girls.”

    I gave it a few episodes but have since dropped it. Does it seem worth picking back up?

    “Date A Live Ep. 4 Stories that twist dating-sim logic into reality aren’t always silly. Sometimes they highlight what the games get right.”

    Series wasn’t streaming on Crunchyroll so I had given up watching it this season, but your post here inspired me to actually look (I hadn’t done so before because I hadn’t had much reason to add another series to my already long list of current running anime to watch). Found out that it is streaming on Hulu, so I’m looking forward to starting this one soon!

    I really like this setup of posting everything you have watched through the week. I’m thinking I may start doing the same thing on my blog as soon as finals are done and over with. (In fact, why I am here commenting when I have an exam tomorrow morning…)

    • Marlin-sama May 4, 2013 at 7:24 pm

      If you didn’t get caught by Leviathan’s charm after the first episode or two, it’s probably not for you.

      I’m glad these weekly posts are useful for someone. I often worry that it’s just too standard practice and doesn’t shine brightly enough amongst the many other bloggers and more mainstream news sources.

Leave a Reply

