Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Spring 2013 Recommendations

I had unbelievably low expectations going into this season because the only titles I recognized from my previous experiences with anime, manga, games or image boards were Railgun, Devil Survivor, Samurai Bride and OreImo.  Of those, only the first two filled me with optimism.  However, I’ve been pleasantly surprised to discover spring 2013 to have a lot of gorgeous gems that I never expected to find.

Ledo defeats the pirates1. Suisei no Gargantia

A mecha story about a clash of cultures.  I know this is going to be awesome because I keep rewatching every episode over and over again to soak up the writing, which masterfully interweaves the exposition of the beautifully expansive setting with moving the plot forward at a steady pace.

Misaka an company enjoy beautiful Academy City2. A Certain Scientific Railgun S

Mikoto Misaka is possibly one of the best designed characters in the history of anime.  Proud but not boastful, rich but not extravagant, powerful but still humble, she was the centerpiece of an awesome story in her first season and I expect to see nothing less from the sequel.

Overlord Satan considers using his powers to fix the deep-fryer3. Hataraku Maou-sama

A once powerful overlord brought low finds there’s more to life than he thought he knew.  Humbled by the circumstances he finds himself in, will he be able to reform his ways or is his darker nature all there is to him?

 

Kiri protects Iwai4. Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge

Contrary to what other reviewers have said, this anime is not about magic scissors that can cut otherwise indestructible hair. It’s a delicate dance of opposites attracted to one another who create a beautifully poetic symmetry through their partnerships.

 

The fleshy titan is back and this time Eren is ready5. Attack on Titan

In a word…EPIC.  In this world of vengeance it’s go big or go home as the last stronghold of mankind literally stands with their backs against the wall to fight what by all rights ought to be an insurmountable foe.

 

Touka goes on a date with Shidou6. Date A Live

While not the most sophisticated of premises, applying dating game logic to real life yields some surprisingly comical interactions.  But the real treat in this series is how well it manages to tell a story through the actions of the characters rather than having to walk the viewer through every detail.

Tsukiko is annoyed with Youto7. The Hentai Prince and the Stony Cat

The strength of some series lies in their art style, others have great music and still others have amazing writing.  This show does respectably in the first three categories, but where it’s impressive is in watching its terrific cast of voice actors practice their craft.

Yukari and Yuzuko borrow some of Yui's hair8. Yuyushiki

There hasn’t been a really good moe anime since Acchi Kocchi, but this title is showing promising signs with its freshly endearing art style and story that randomly follows the daily lives of the trio of quirky girls that make up the primary cast.

 

Izumiko dances and flowers bloom9. Red Data Girl

On the surface this is just a pretty environment that is dominated by an ominous and foreboding atmosphere, but dig deeper and you’ll find it’s one of those tense stories where emotions run high and the ability of the writer to make the audience feel for the characters is paramount.

Honorable Mentions

Zettai Boei Leviathan ∙ Devil Survivor 2 ∙ Samurai Bride ∙ Muromi-san ∙ My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU

8 responses to “Spring 2013 Recommendations

  1. japesland May 4, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    I will definitely be adding the few that are not already on my list of 11 current running anime that I am watching. Love getting your input.

    • Marlin-sama May 4, 2013 at 7:16 pm

      Oh? What did I say that piqued your interest? What new anime will you be following at my suggestion?

      • japesland May 8, 2013 at 6:18 am

        I’m not sure if there was anything in particular, it’s just that I appreciated your short descriptions of each.

        I’m definitely watching Suisei no Gargantia. I’ve had quite a number of suggestions to do so, so this one is just a given.

        I will likely pick up Yuyushiki just because I always appreciate a good “moe” from time to time.

        I’d like to pick up A Certain Scientific Railgun S, but I need to finish A Certain Magical Index first.

    • Marlin-sama May 8, 2013 at 6:25 am

      Don’t bother with Index. The Index and Railgun stories are not dependent on one another. Watching Railgun’s first season will be enough. Index is good and you should check it out later (it’s got a very science versus religion story that I like), but Railgun is so much better.

  2. Hellwarden May 5, 2013 at 9:13 am

    It’s probably one of the best seasons in a really, really, long time.

  3. Kamille May 6, 2013 at 12:21 am

    with every new season I just feel more and more ashamed of being an anime fan. Things are so bad these days that people are now passing bad animes as good ones. The quality is so low that the standard had to be lowered… Stuff like Attack of Titan does not deserve the attention is getting and the same with other garbage that was really popular like Guilty Crown and Sword Online… Like seriously, my god! You guys and your bad taste.

    • Marlin-sama May 6, 2013 at 10:18 am

      That’s interesting. You see, I liked Guilty Crown and SAO at first, but then they fell apart and I came to hate those shows. And I’m still withholding judgment on Attack on Titan. I’m merely…entertained by it right now, but I never call anything until it finishes. You’ll probably enjoy reading this. http://wp.me/p1Gaby-Lm

      But then that begs the question, what do you like this season? What have the good anime been in recent, previous seasons?

    • japesland May 8, 2013 at 6:26 am

      I think it is being a bit presumptuous to call modern anime garbage. I definitely agree that most of the popular stuff is quite overrated, but I absolutely love a number that have come out in recent years. Croisee in a Foreign Labyrinth, Nichijou, Madoka, Steins;Gate, The World God Only Knows, and Usagi Drop were all wonderful according to my tastes. I would be curious to get some more specific examples to hear why you feel that way.

Leave a Reply

