Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Nominated for the Liebster Award

Liebster AwardI guess it’s been long enough since the last post I wrote about myself that I can do another one.  Medievalotaku has nominated me and I’ll bite.  Here are the requirements:

1)Post the Liebster award graphic on your site.
2) Thank the blogger who nominated the blog for a Liebster Award and link back to their blog.
3) The blogger then writes 11 facts about themselves so people who discover their blog through the Liebster post will learn more about them.
4) In addition to posting 11 fun facts about themselves, nominated bloggers should also answer the 11 questions from the post of the person who nominated them.
5) The nominated blogger will in turn, nominate 9 other blogs with 200 or less followers (We’re guessing for our nominees) for a Liebster award by posting a comment on their blog and linking back to the Liebster post.
6) The nominated blogger will create 11 questions for their nominated blogs to answer in their Liebster post. 

Marlin-samaAlright, so here’s the third step, 11 facts about myself:

1. I chipped my left, front tooth playing ice hockey.  It’s filled in so nobody can tell unless they look closely.

2. I’m 27 years old and I’ve never been on a date.

3. I haven’t driven a car in three years (ever since I came to Japan).

4. I could eat broccoli, asparagus, cauliflower, brussels sprouts and onions just fine when I was a kid.  But now that I’m an adult, I can’t even stand the smell of these vegetables.  For most people it’s just the opposite, right?  Usually kids can’t eat vegetables and you develop a taste for them as adults, but not me.

5. Despite being a very audio-visual, graphic design savvy person, I prefer PC to Mac.

6. I live far enough away from the epicenter of the 2011 Touhoku earthquake that I didn’t feel so much as a tremor and I only found out it had happened when I got bombarded with emails and IMs from friends and family asking if I was ok.

7. While I can swim just fine, I don’t like the sensation of being wet unless it’s part of the process of bathing.

8. My lucky number is 13.

9. I’ve never broken a bone.

Eye of Truth tattoo10. I have a tattoo of the Eye of Truth from the Legend of Zelda on my right shoulder.

11. When I was in second grade, I won a contest to name a new playground that was being built in my home town.  The sign is still there and the winning name I came up with was “Happy Landings.”

Next up are Medievalotaku’s 11 questions for me.

1. Who is your favorite novelist?

I don’t really read novels anymore. The last major novelist I read with passion was Margaret Weiss, so I guess I’ll go with her.

2. What is your favorite literary genre?

I enjoy fantasy, but nothing gets me fired up like the imaginings of the future that only science fiction can provide.

3. What’s your favorite beer? (if you have one)

I hate beer.  It’s all bitter, smelly and disgusting.

4. What made you decide to turn to blogging?

After unsuccessfully searching for a blogger whose tastes matched my own and whose writings I could follow, I discovered that I’d found an untapped niche in anime blogging and decided to start representing my own position.

5. What is your favorite holiday?

The next one…ok more in the spirit of the question, Halloween.

6. Do you have a favorite anime?

Miyako toys with HiroMy favorite anime is ef – a tale of memories.

7. Which country would you most want to visit and why?

I’m already living in the country I most wanted to visit—Japan.  So the second country I most want to visit is New Zealand.  It’s so beautiful and there’s a lot of interesting birds there.  Sadly, the New Zealand government hates anime.

8. What is your favorite epoch in American history?

World War II—particularly the air war in both Europe and the Pacific.  It was an era of so many technological innovations.

9. Who is your favorite actor or actress in old movies (pre-1965)?

I’m not a fan of old movies.  I know Sean Connery played James Bond early in his career (1962) so I’ll go with him.

10. What is your favorite story from the Bible? (if you have one)

As readers of my series on Madoka > Jesus will know, I’m not a fan of religion and so far as I can tell, the bible has never really said anything that wasn’t just common sense or was described more eloquently in another literary work.  That said, I guess Proverbs being the most secular book of the bible means I could go with that one.  It has some interesting sound bites.

11. Who was your hero when you were growing up?

Neil Armstrong.  A brave and daring man who was nonetheless very humble about his accomplishments.

My nominations.

Since it’s impossible to tell how many followers a blog has, I’m just going to nominate whoever I can think of.

Beneath the Tangles – Of course my best supporter over the past two years is going to get a nomination.

Yaranakya – Cytrus has been a great commenter who helps me with my Precious Memories translations.

Japesland – A newer blogger who already has some really good content up.

Plus 2 Soul – A Japanese TCG blog that covers Bushiroad games.

Organization Anti-Social Geniuses – Justin is an experienced blogger I often disagree with, but knows his stuff.

After this point, my nominations are pretty much just followers who comment frequently, so I know only a little about their own blogs, but they contributed to the success of Ashita no Anime, so I’ll send them some kickbacks.

Pyrus CanvasIllusions to IllusionsA Rather Silly BlogFantastic Memes

Ok, now the questions for my nominations.

1. What’s the weirdest/wildest/crazy thing you’ve ever seen an animal do?

Seagull vomits hotdogA seagull once tried to eat three hotdogs.

2. Tell us about something that took you an embarrassingly long time to finally understand.

Until I had someone explain it to me during my junior year of high school in chemistry class, I thought that the expressions “half-full,” and “half-empty,” where actual forms of measurement and not states of mind playing on optimism and pessimism.  I thought that half-full meant 3/4 or “half plus half of a half,” and by contrast half-empty meant 1/4 or “half of a half.”

3. What is your favorite kind of tree and why?

Birch.  I love the white papery bark that’s so unlike any other tree and the beautiful golden color the leaves change in the fall.

9000 ninjas4. Pirates, Ninjas or Zombies?

Ninjas.

5. If you could incorporate one body part from any animal into your own body, what would it be and why?

Bird wings. Whenever I look down across a valley, I always wish I could jump from a high vantage point and glide across the landscape below me.

6. What is your favorite kind of human-powered locomotion?

Ice skating.

7. Name a popular/mainstream movie, book, TV series, etc. that you think you would probably enjoy, but you still haven’t watched or read yet.  And why not?

The Dark Night.  I’ve always been a Marvel fan so that’s already a strike against it, but the reason I’ve avoided watching The Dark Night is because all of the previous Batman movies that came before it soured my opinion of the character’s ability to tell an interesting story.

8. If you could make any activity an Olympic event, what would you choose and why?

I’d go with some kind of video game competition.  Perhaps speedrunning or maybe a fighting game, I’m not sure.  But I know it would be a lot of fun.

9. If some event in the past had gone drastically different, what alternate present would you want to be living in and why?

I know I’ve been harping on religion a lot as of late, but I sincerely believe we’d have colonies throughout the solar system by now if our monkey brains weren’t so superstitious that primitive man created a societal construct that has retarded scientific progress for millennia.  A much more scientifically advanced, much less superstitious mankind who already calls the stars home in the year 2013 is my ideal alternate present.

Batman slaps Robin10. What is the dumbest meme you’ve ever seen?

Name an ‘X’ that doesn’t have ‘letter Y’ in its name.  Always so easy to achieve and annoyingly pointless.

11. What word do you most often hear people mispronounce that drives you crazy?

A close family member cannot say either the world “consonant,” or “continent,” and instead always pronounces either word “constanant,” and it bugs me because he hasn’t said either word correctly on his first try in all my life.  I always have to correct him and give him a couple sample sounds before he can say it the right way.

And that’s all, whew.  These are always fun posts to write and they’re also relatively easy because it’s pretty much just a bunch of facts.  But there’s so much to do that they take me a lot more effort than I initially suspect they will when I start.

6 responses to “Nominated for the Liebster Award

  1. froggykun May 23, 2013 at 8:26 pm

    Congrats on the nomination! It’s always interesting to learn new things about bloggers you follow. Personally, I love the little snippets of wisdom you write in your weekly anime posts. Keep up the good work and here’s to your blogging success!

  2. japesland May 23, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    Thanks for the nomination! The process of responding is kind of overwhelming… but I’ll try to get started soon!

  3. TWWK May 24, 2013 at 12:45 am

    Dude, I didn’t know about the tattoo! I’m not generally a big fan, but that one looks good.

    I’ll answer your questions on my Tumblr account – it’ll be going up at 9:00pm ET today.

  4. pyrusic May 25, 2013 at 5:23 am

    Thanks for the nomination. Now, to find 9 other blogs to nominate…

  5. Pingback: Nominated for the Liebster Award | Japesland

Leave a Reply

