Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Summer 2013 Recommendations

With two sequels of garbage anime airing this summer in High School DxD New and Tamayura: More Aggressive as well as sequels of franchises I thought had been lost to the abyss of time like Genshiken, The World God Only Knows and Rozen Maiden, I didn’t have high hopes for this season.  I’m pleasantly surprised to be wrong because there are some really fun and quirky titles that have made my watch list for summer 2013.

Misaka feels cornered1. A Certain Scientific Railgun S

Based on this summer’s first impressions, there’s little doubt in my mind that Railgun is going to be far and above everything else.

 

 

Kuroki feels left behind by the world2. Watashi ga Motenai

In an oxymoronic way, I think the embodiment of this anime is, “if you can’t be happy, you should find ways to enjoy being miserable.”  I absolutely love that kind of twisted logic and all the fresh ideas that come with it.

 

Illya's reaction to becoming a magic girl3. Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya

This comedic parody of Fate is doing a great job first and foremost because it knows it’s a magic girl anime and isn’t afraid to have fun with what was formerly some deadly serious intellectual property.

 

Staz and Fuyumi begin their trek to the human world4. Blood Lad

I didn’t expect that I would be able to put up with the really simple, somewhat gaudy art style used in this series.  But the goofy premise is so ridiculous it just might work and the fast pace of the story that doesn’t miss a beat has sucked me in.

 

Miyoshi, Yamagami and Hasebe work at the city hall5. Servant x Service

Ever since I came to Japan, every so often I encounter an anime that I could never have related to if I had not lived in this country with its unique perspectives.

 

 

Genshiken casts present and past gather6. Genshiken Nidaime

It’s been so long since Genshiken’s last season I didn’t think another go at this franchise would be able to succeed. Boy was I wrong.  Genshiken hasn’t missed a beat and I love it.

 

Hanekawa and Senjougahara talk7. Monogatari Series: Second Season

The next iteration of Nishio Ishin’s fabulous intellectual adventure has gotten off to a slow start, but there’s little doubt this will offer the same stimulation as its predecessors.

 

Alice has a Japanese breakfast and Shinobu has a western breakfast8. Kiniro Mosaic

Another anime this season that hits really close to home and makes me wish I had had the drive to come to Japan earlier in my life.

 

 

Levi disciplines Eren9. Attack on Titan

Oh how the expectations have fallen.  Still epic visually, but it has also become somewhat lost with its inability to consistently keep up a high standard of excellence story-wise.

 

Yura is apprehensive, but excited10. Stella C3-bu

I really like these shows that challenge us to rethink our stereotypes about gender roles.  After all, is there really any reason why a girls’ school couldn’t have an airsoft club?

 

Honorable Mentions

Hyperdimension Neptunia – Love Lab – Sunday Without God – Gatchaman Crowds – Fantasista Doll

The World God Only Knows: Goddesses – Rozen Maiden Zurückspulen

3 responses to “Summer 2013 Recommendations

  1. Paul July 20, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    I’m confused on how your expectations have fallen for attack on Titan. It’s been an incredible series in my opinion and even episode highly anticipated.

    • Marlin-sama July 20, 2013 at 8:33 pm

      The story is SLOW. They take way too long to get to the point and there’s a lot of unnecessary meandering about stuff I don’t care about or already know in the meantime. Additionally it’s a story that’s been done too many times. Mankind faced with apocalypse still can’t be bothered to unite against a common enemy and continues to fight amongst themselves.

      Also, if you really think about it, Attack on Titan is actually just a zombie story–a limitless number of mindless eating machines that are very difficult to kill are bent on the destruction of humanity. That realization was disappointing for me because I feel like I’ve been misled by the premise.

      • medievalotaku August 3, 2013 at 10:31 pm

        I have to agree. I also don’t find the characters in the show easy to relate with, which is another reason why I stopped watching it at episode 9. They seem to be particularly stock characters, and they’re too many of them for the audience to really get to know the protagonists anyway.

Leave a Reply

