Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (7/14 – 7/20)

Anime of the Week – Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S
Accelerator makes a breakthrough

Though we may decry Accelerator for his unbridled lust for power, I always get goosebumps when he makes a new discovery about the extent of his abilities. Knowledge often comes in plateaus of monotany broken by great leaps of inspiration and I can appreciate his exhiliration.                              

July 14 Attack on Titan Ep. 14 If I had a dime for every anime whose second season opening theme was worse than the first season I could retire.
July 15 Blood Lad Ep. 2 We may jump to conclusions just because someone’s methods are dishonest, but it doesn’t mean their kindness is disingenuous.
Prisma Illya Ep. 2 From the Fate references to the deconstruction of the magic girl genre, this anime’s meta-levels of parody are awesome.
Genshiken Nidaime Ep. 2 Our biases are influenced by our past, but the thrill of exploring new discoveries can help us change for the better.
Monogatari 2 Ep. 2 Total indiscrimination is pointless. It’s just as important to have things you hate as it is to have things you love.
July 16 Silver Spoon Ep. 1 I’m sure this will be a good story about hard work and not running from your problems, but I don’t care for the setting.
Kami Nomi Megami Ep. 1 I liked this franchise better when it was more episodic. Now it has lost me with its attempts to expand the story.
WataMote Ep. 1 What’s going on? It’s like someone took my adolescent personality and superimposed it onto a Japanese high school girl.
WataMote Ep. 2 I can’t recall an anime that has made me feel so happy about being depressed. It perfectly suits my dry sense of humor.
July 17 KinMosa Ep. 1 Having lived in Japan for three years, I really appreciate these stories about culture shock and misconceptions about Japan.
July 18 KinMosa Ep. 2 It’s losing sophistication, but it’s gaining moe points. There’s actually a plot so this should be better than Yuyushiki.
July 19 Uchoten Ep. 1 Neither good nor bad. It’s got some clever humor, but I’d very much like to have a better idea of where the story is going.
July 20 Day Break Illusion Ep. 1 I’m a fan of using tarot as inspiration for a story, but the plot seems too generic magic girl to be interesting.
Dangan Ronpa Ep. 1 Survival game anime are too played out by this point to hold my interest anymore. Especially incomprehensible ones.
Gatchaman Crowds Ep. 1 Hero anime aren’t typically my thing, but this one’s got a really fun cast and a style that’s holding my attention.
Railgun S Ep. 15 Accelerator is one of my favorite villains because I can relate to his motives and understand the madness of his methods.

*Keep up to date with my daily mini-reviews by following me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

