Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Spring 2013 Wrap-up

This has to have been one of the most up and down seasons of anime since I started writing this blog two years ago.  Several of the anime I had a good feeling about initially ended up turning sour at their conclusions (or in the case of Attack on Titan, the midpoint).  That’s not to say my predictions were totally off, but to see so many fail to meet even my most basic expectations…I’m just at a loss in the wake of this unexpected twist.  There were also a few nice surprises, but they weren’t so Earth-shattering as to overcome the lack of quality that emerged from my other, former top picks.  What follows are my final impressions for spring 2013 and how my ratings changed from the beginning of the season.

Ledo wishes he didn't have to fight1. Suisei no Gargantia (unchanged)

I’m at least glad that my top two picks were spot on.  I expected a story of culture shock on a life-altering scale and I got it and more with some amazing conundrums that challenged my assumptions about the boundaries of morality.

Misaka destroys everything2. A Certain Scientific Railgun (unchanged)

I’d have been very disappointed if this sequel to an anime starring one of my favorite characters had let me down and it didn’t.  Misaka continues to be the honest girl who will never give up in her pursuit of what’s right.

Tsukiko and Yokodera go on a date3. HenNeko (formerly.7)

I’ve heard of never judging a book by its cover, but from now on I guess I have to remember never to judge an anime by its title.  I was expecting a really ecchi comedy series without much substance and what I got was a quirky, yet wonderful romance story punctuated by moments of sheer hilarity.

Izumiko dances to restore balance4. Red Data Girl (formerly.9)

Stories that revolve around Shinto mythology always have a flair for making up their own rules—a sort of free for all with the content of the setting.  So in order to be successful, anime in this genre need to tell a great story with relatable characters, which RDG does very well.

Tohka rages at Origami5. Date A Live (formerly.6)

Harem anime are a dime a dozen, so for one to come along and actually surprise me with some fresh character archetypes, clever writing and a scenario that isn’t about turning some random loser guy into a sex object is worthy of praise.

Eren supports the hope of humanity6. Attack on Titan (formerly.5)

For me, everyone’s favorite series this past season falls a notch to an anime I’m sure many people dismissed. My contentious reason for this is because I feel it’s taking forever to tell its story.  The action is great and the emotional pursuits are moving, but it’s just spread too thin to really, fully satisfy me.

Leviathan fights off a giant lucasite7. Zettai Bouei Leviathan (formerly.10)

KISS (keep it simple, stupid) applies to this surprise hit very appropriately. Dragon girls, a fun-filled adventure, saving the world as a side benefit?  All good stuff that doesn’t need anything deep to overcomplicate it.

Muneakira and Juubei fight together8. Samurai Bride (formerly.13)

Nowhere near the level of smart writing that made the first season of this  fanservice-laden anime stand out, it still did a better job telling its mediocre story than the series that follow.

 

Yuzu spills a drink in Yui's room while Yukari laughs9. Yuyushiki (formerly.8)

I wanted a cute, moe anime and what I got was a repetitive, moe-ish anime.  It’s fine to
have one character deliver all the random thoughts, but that can’t be all there is to make up for the lack of any plot whatsoever.

Hibiki faces Yamato before Polaris10. Devil Survivor 2 (formerly.11)

Don’t watch this. Play the game.  And then after you’ve played that game, you still shouldn’t watch this.  The people who let this go to air should be ashamed of themselves.  That’s all I have to say.

 

Maou Sadou in Emilia's imagination11. Hataraku Maou-sama (formerly.3)

What wasted potential.  The devil works at McDonalds and is thwarted by an angel who works at a call center.  The possibility for comedy was golden, but instead we got a sub-par adventure story that didn’t really go anywhere and was devoid of substance.

Kiri resumes cutting Iwai's hair12. Crime Edge (formerly.4)

A series that was shaping up to be about poetic pairings of opposites that when put together create a  wonderful harmony—tarnished in the end by bad pacing and a lost focus on what made it really cool in the beginning.

Yukino backs up Hikigaya during a tennis match13. OreGairu (unchanged)

OreShura disappointed me last season and only 1/3 of the way in, this was shaping up to be more of the same.  I dropped this at episode 3.

5 responses to “Spring 2013 Wrap-up

  1. sublightD August 10, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    You really missed out on Oregairu. Hachiman is one of the great male protagonists. Oreshura was indeed stupid, but not so on this one.

    • Marlin-sama August 11, 2013 at 2:21 am

      I was totally not getting that vibe whatsoever. Like so many other harem anime, Hachiman seemed to me a spineless, apathetic waste of masculinity from what little I saw.

  2. dx349 August 11, 2013 at 8:54 am

    maou sama and oregairu were the best stuff in summer …it like something missing right now …agree with attack …good but it is just slow pace

    • Marlin-sama August 11, 2013 at 9:13 pm

      Maou-sama had no direction to its story and the ending was nonexistent. I was disappointed with so many anime this past spring. This summer has so many series that are shaping up to be awesome when compared to last season.

  3. medievalotaku September 26, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    Nice list of some of the great shows of that season. I also hold Suisei no Gargantia as my favorite. By the way, I decided to nominate you for the WordPress Family Award! You can see the details on my blog.

Leave a Reply

