Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (8/11 – 8/17)

Anime of the Week – Gatchaman Crowds
Rui - Play the game!

I’d originally written this anime off as a remake of a boring old relic of the past like Jojo or an empty hero story amounting to nothing more than a string of action scenes like Tiger and Bunny. Boy was I wrong. What an amazingly courageous show full of unique characters with vastly different, but nonetheless lofty methods about how to make the world a better place.                              

August 11 Kiniro Mosaic Ep. 6 There’s a lot of fun stuff to do in Japan during the summer, but I find it to be so hot that I can’t stand to go outside.
Day Break Illusion Ep. 6 I was hoping for something more ambitious, but sure enough Seira has softened and she’s becoming less interesting.
Attack on Titan Ep. 18 The female titan is cruel, the recon corps is getting pwned, nobody knows what’s going on. We get it. Get on with it.
Genshiken Nidaime Ep. 6 The mark of a good otaku is knowing what needs to stay in 2D and what’s acceptable to bring into the real world.
August 13 Blood Lad Ep. 6 The difference between maturity and immaturity is being able to correctly judge the limits of your strengths and weaknesses.
Prisma Illya Ep. 6 I’m not sure how the Fate purists are going to feel, but that was one of the most badass things I’ve ever seen.
Gatchaman Crowds Ep. 5 Rui may seem naïve and idealistic, but she knows that to change the world, you can’t repeat the mistakes of the past.
Stella C3-bu Ep. 6 I want to forgive this anime because it’s trying so hard, but it just can’t blend all its themes into a cohesive piece.
August 16 WataMote Ep. 6 I don’t understand why Tomoko was looking nice this episode, but if she took better care of herself she’d be pretty cute.
August 17 Rozen Maiden Zuruckspulen Ep. 7 I seem to recall fans being able to submit designs for a doll. I wonder if the one Jun is working on is that doll.
Servant x Service Ep. 7 I like how this series shows that men have emotions, but social norms dictate that they can’t reveal those feelings.

*Keep up to date with my daily mini-reviews by following me on Twitter.

2 responses to “Anime of the Week (8/11 – 8/17)

  1. gedata August 20, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    meh, our thoughts on Jojo on Gatchaman Crowds are essentially the opposite. I was expecting more from (Jojo was freaking awesome man, not a single boring bone in it’s body IMO). Gatchaman is losing me, the dialogue essentially bores me and it kinda bothers me how the main character is essentially right all the time no matter how rash she is, she doesn’t annoy me with her whimsical spirit though, which explains why I was cool with her to begin with. Hajime just doesn’t come off as the right main character for this series, hopefully she’ll prove me wrong. Themes of what it means to be a hero would be more intriguing if they were woven into on-the-field conflicts against real threats rather then lengthy conversations. They are trying to make this more then a conventional action title, but I’m not totally on board with the product at the moment.

    • Marlin-sama August 20, 2013 at 7:51 pm

      Yeah, I seem to be fighting against the whole world when it comes to Jojo because I watched what little I could stand and thought it was one of the worst anime of all time. But if you’re going to complain about Hajime being overly righteous, Jojo is way worse in my opinion. However, considering my past anime of the year and my other favorite anime, I tend to prefer anime that are very dialogue heavy. I’m also not convinced Gatchaman Crowds has a single protagonist. I mean, look at the title. It’s got “Crowds” in it, which is a direct reference to Rui’s power, so I consider …him… to be nearly an equal protagonist to Hajime given the amount of screentime he gets.

Leave a Reply

