Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (8/18 – 8/24)

Anime of the Week – Attack on Titan
Eren chooses to place his trust in his comrades

Just like Eren, we all must realize that we are not islands in a sea of society, but immensely dependent on each other not only for our own surival, but also for achieving accomplishments greater than any individual could ever dream of. If only it didn’t take grave matters of life and death to forge bonds of trust as strong as those between the members of the Survey Corps.

August 18 Railgun S Ep. 18 Just because someone has power, it doesn’t mean they’re going to abuse it. Don’t fault others for your own inaction.
Gatchaman Crowds Ep. 6 Rui’s goal sounds courageous, but if he succeeds at making everyone a hero, then everyone would be the same.
KinMosa Ep. 7 As much as the students in anime value their test scores, testing in Japan isn’t actually as important as you would think
Attack on Titan Ep. 19 Trust is something that must be earned and continually preserved. This anime is beginning to slowly regain mine.
August 19 Monogatari 2 Ep. 7 I always find Araragi’s meandering, philosophical conversations to not only be enlightening, but immensely entertaining.
Genshiken Nidaime Ep. 7 I’ve always found it to be oxymoronic that despite otakus’ social dysfunctions, we can relate well with each other.
Day Break Illusion Ep. 7 I was able to appreciate the little references in this otherwise uneventful episode because I live near Nagasaki.
Blood Lad Ep. 7 I think that selfishness isn’t always a bad thing. If you enjoy helping others, on some level you’re doing it for yourself.
August 22 WataMote Ep. 7 The reason this anime resonates with people is because while our whole lives may not be like Tomoko’s we can understand her.
August 23 Servant x Service Ep. 8 I admire Hasebe’s patience. Though if I was in his shoes, I’d also probably be willing to wait two months for a date.
Rozen Maiden Zuruckspulen Ep. 8 Yeah, I totally called it. After all, it wasn’t that hard to predict that everything was going to be Jun’s fault.
August 24 Prisma Illya Ep. 7 The way this anime mixes risqué comedy with harsh reality isn’t always the best stylistic choice, but it sure is funny.
Gatchaman Crowds Ep. 7 I really like Hajime as the main character. Most protagonists immediately go for the violent solution, but not her.

*Keep up to date with my daily mini-reviews by following me on Twitter.

2 responses to “Anime of the Week (8/18 – 8/24)

  1. japesland August 26, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    I’ve really enjoyed these posts (and the Tweets that compose them). I may adopt this approach for my own Twitter.

    • Marlin-sama August 26, 2013 at 11:18 pm

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I think it’s important to have at least one regular weekly column for people to look forward to. Also, you wouldn’t be the first person who took inspiration from my Anime of the Week series.

Leave a Reply

