Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Summer 2013 Wrap-up

I imagine that the summer anime season is the least watched since nobody wants to be inside when the weather is nice outside and therefore tends not to get the highest quality titles.  Despite the logic of that deduction, I did end up watching quite a few anime this summer that impressed and surprised me.  If you want to read my predictions for how summer 2013 would turn out, you should go here.

Misaka falls from space1. Railgun S (Unchanged – 9/10)

Misaka Mikoto and friends deliver another great action series full of comedy and camaraderie.  The icing on the cake is seeing Misaka really grow as a character over these past two seasons.  If there’s a third season, I’d watch it in a heartbeat.

Koyomi and Shinobu reflect2. Monogatari Series (formerly 7 – ongoing)

Maybe the disappointment of Nisemonogatari lessened my view of this franchise because I can’t believe I ranked it at only #7 at the start of the summer 2013 season.  The philosophical comedy series is back on track and as hilarious and insightful as ever.

Illya and Miyu fire their finisher3. Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya (unchanged – 8/10)

I expected a series of cliché jokes that call out the ridiculousness of some of the stuff that goes on in the magic girl genre.  I didn’t expect there to also be a fair amount of badassery as well.

Gatchaman Crowds - The Team4. Gatchaman Crowds (formerly 14 – 8/10)

Sometimes the performance of a single character is enough to make an entire series worth watching and Hajime is such an unlikely, spunky hero in an otherwise serious anime that she makes the whole experience shine incredibly bright.

Lucy won't let Hasebe get the better of her5. Servant x Service (unchanged – 7/10)

If you enjoyed Working! (Wagnaria in America) then you’ll probably enjoy the unconventional humor in this series that forsakes established settings and blows a breath of fresh air into the anime world.

 

Kuroki sees something she can't unsee6. WataMote (formerly 2 – 7/10)

Often more miss than hit, I think this series was easy to relate to for anyone who had a tough time in high school.  Although it makes light of Tomoko’s depressed personality, there’s also a lot to learn from her as she deals with being ignored.

 

Alice and Shinobu walk to school7. Kiniro Mosaic (formerly 8 – 7/10)

I haven’t enjoyed a moe anime this much since Acchi Kocchi.  A ridiculously fun group of girls and an interesting premise about the cross of western and eastern cultures.

 

Genshiken heads to an onsen8. Genshiken Nidaime (formerly 6 – 7/10)

You’ll not find another anime that is a better representation of what otaku culture is really like.  We’re not deviants to be feared, we just have more eccentric tastes and hobbies compared to most other people, but we still have feelings.

Seira, Luna, Akari and Ginka begin their world tour9. Daybreak Illusion (formerly 18 – 5/10)

As magic girl shows go this one was good, but the rather run-of-the-mill story tried too hard to overreach what it was truly capable of.  Its only really distinguishing quality was its original art style that went the moe direction in an otherwise unmoe anime.

Titan Eren rages on fire10. Attack on Titan (formerly 9 – 5/10)

I fail to see why this series is so popular.  Yes, it has some really cool moments and it’s strong on action.  But this should not have been a 25 episode series.  As it dragged on, the animation degraded terribly and the story was horribly padded.

11. Rozen Maiden Zurückspulen (formerly 17 – 5/10)

I quite enjoyed this revisit of an older title that takes a look at an alternate timeline.  The characters were given proper treatment and while it wandered a bit, the story kept me wondering how it would turn out.

12. Sunday Without God (formerly 13 – 4/10)

I saw some potential in this series, but after the events of the third episode, it suddenly felt completely played out and I lost all interest.

13. Blood Lad (formerly 4 – 4/10)

This anime was a lot of fun and could have easily stolen my #9 slot from Daybreak Illusion if it had made any effort to have some sort of ending.  If it gets a second season, this rating may be worthy of revision.

14. The World God Only Knows: Goddesses (formerly 164/10)

This series has officially run out of ideas.  I would have thought it still had plenty of material to continue making jokes about dating sims, but I don’t like this new direction it has taken.

15. Fantasista Doll (formerly 134/10)

Since the premise is about trading card games, I thought I would have given this series more of a chance to see where it was going, but it just couldn’t hold my attention.  It was just missing a special little spark to keep me watching.

16. Hyperdimension Neptunia (formerly 113/10)

Based on its premise, I wasn’t expecting much from this series and my expectations were right on the money.  That’s not to say that some of its jokes about the console wars weren’t funny or clever, but a plot that should have been catering to an older audience felt like it was written for eight year olds.

17. Stella C3-bu (formerly 103/10)

I have to admit that the reimagining of critical moments in history that involved guns through the eyes of an airsoft club at a girls’ private school was an interesting enough premise that I gave it a good shot, but it just wasn’t delivering—especially in the acting department that left every character feeling flat.

18. Love Lab (formerly 123/10)

A story about a bunch of girls pooling their collective ignorance about romance and fighting over student council duties was probably doomed to go nowhere fast before I even gave it a chance.

One response to “Summer 2013 Wrap-up

  1. japesland October 17, 2013 at 12:19 am

    Love reading your season follow-ups. Coincidentally, I recently looked through your MAL and was comparing many of your ratings to mine, which is often quite interesting and indicative of our differences in taste. In this case (this season) the main differences that came up were:
    Railgun S – I felt it to be a solid follow-up to the previous season, but mediocre in general terms.
    Watamote – One of the few anime I watched last season that I thought was just plain bad.
    TWGOK – I have a soft spot for this series, so my high opinion of it is likely quite biased.
    Love Lab – While definitely not high quality, I found it to be more entertaining than I think you did.

Leave a Reply

