Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (10/13 – 10/19)

Anime of the Week – Nagi no Asu Kara
Tsumugu catches Manaka

Possibly the most beautiful anime to come out this year; I was in love with the art style after only one minute. This clash of romance vs tradition is going to be heart-wrenchingly dramatic. I just know it.                             

October 13 Outbreak Company Ep. 1 While they are humorous, I’m not fond of how some of these otaku-centric anime portray others who share my hobby.
Golden Time Ep. 1 I’ve often been pleased by otherwise mediocre anime because of the quality of the voice acting and Horie Yui is amazing.
Log Horizon Ep. 1 Between SAO and .hack, the whole “trapped in a video game,” story premise feels pretty played out by this point.
White Album 2 Ep. 1 The first iteration was plagued by a huge cast that was hard to keep track of. Hopefully number two will be more focused.
Sekai de Ichiban Tsuyoku Naritai Ep. 1 There’s a fine line between ridiculous and dumb, but there’s little doubt this is one of the silliest premises I’ve seen.
Walkure Romanze Ep. 1 Girls und Panzer worked is because it defied femininity. This anime is still girly—it merely twists feminine expectations.
Gingitsune Ep. 1 I always love anime that explore Shinto. However, I’m not sure this series has what it takes to tell a compelling story.
Non Non Biyori Ep. 1 While I do like the slice of life genre and I know the plot is going to be loose, I prefer a little more direction.
Aoki Hagane no Arpeggio: Ars Nova Ep. 1 It’s hard to call an action series after only the first episode, but I’ve always had a special fascination with submarines.
October 14 Tokyo Ravens Ep. 1 When you’ve watched as much anime as I have, you just instinctully know when the target audience is not your age group.
BlazBlue: Alter Memory Ep. 1 I wonder if this series is like the Persona 4 anime where you need to be already invested in the franchise to understand it.
NouKome Ep. 1 While the weirdness of this anime doesn’t bother me so much, its inarticulate writing is too much of a headache to deal with.
Galilei Donna Ep. 1 The premise of this story would have been interesting enough without the need to invoke the name of historical figures.
Monogatari Ep. 15 I’m seeing a pattern of nonviolence with the resolution to each oddity the girls are confronted with this time around.
October 16 Freezing Vibration Ep. 1 A textbook example of unnecessary ecchi—no matter what anyone else thinks, I will watch this series for the story.
October 18 Infinite Stratos 2 Ep. 1 I really want to like this series because mecha musume is an endangered species, but its got too much harem BS.
October 19 Coppelion Ep. 3 I’m enjoying how this series is exploring the nature of atonement, but I didn’t like how nobody knew what a B2 looks like.
Nagi no Asu Kara Ep. 2 It appears this anime will be a story of Romeo & The Little Mermaid. Star-crossed lovers who risk everything for love.
Nagi no Asu Kara Ep. 3 This anime is so beautiful in many ways. Not only is the view of the ocean clear and bright, but the writing is poetic.

*Keep up to date with my daily mini-reviews by following me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

