Ashita no Anime

Anime of Tomorrow

Anime of the Week (10/27 – 11/2)

After a long hiatus, I’m bringing back Anime of the Week, but in a different format. Before, I was just posting whatever I had typed up in Twitter after watching each episode. But that wasn’t working out for me for a couple of reasons. The character limit, while good at encouraging me to be concise, didn’t allow me to fully express everything I wanted to say about each episode. The second reason I’m doing away with Twitter is because it’s the wrong medium for reviewing anime. I know this because I hadn’t gotten a new Twitter follower in months and only two or three over the past year. These catch-up Anime of the Weeks will be leading into my Anime of the Year post coming soon afterwards, so you’ve got something to look forward to while I rehash stuff that aired last month and as always, thanks for reading.

Anime of the Week – White Album 2
Touma grabs Haruki's necktie

I can’t exactly say I had a joyous high school life–it probably could have been worse. But I think I enjoy watching well-written high school romance anime like this one because in hindsight I can see where I had to pass on the opportunity to be happy then as opposed to living my dream today–a full decade after graduating. I don’t regret my choices, but it’s heartwarming to life in someone else’s shoes in twenty minute increments each week.                              

October 27 Monogatari Series Ep. 17 If this arc is about Shinobu, then there’s not enough time left to do two more arcs. Will it be Kanbaru or Hitagi next?
Little Busters Refrain Ep. 4 Rin and Riki have a long history as friends, but their sudden declaration to start dating seemed abrubt.
White Album 2 Ep. 4 Alright Setsuna. Don’t misinterpret things. Be mindful of the old adage, “assumptions make an ass out of u and me.”
October 28 Magi 2 Ep. 1 I would never call this series great, but it dances a fine line between childish and mature that appeals to both audiences.
Magi 2 Ep. 2 He’s helped Aladdin and Alibaba so far, but Sinbad’s power level puts me more in mind of a final boss character than an ally.
Magi 2 Ep. 3 I know all too well what it’s like to be the guy in a group of friends who is the least appreciated of anyone in the group.
Magi 2 Ep. 4 I’ve never liked stories about children banding together to form their own society because inevitably they’re going to grow up.
October 29 Aoki Hagane no Arpeggio Ep. 4 On one hand this series is about man understanding machines, but on the other it’s also about machines discovering humanity.
Unbreakable Machine Doll Ep. 3 Do you ever have one of those moments when you say to yourself, “oh man…I should have seen that coming”?
Unbreakable Machine Doll Ep. 4 The fights in this series use a style that is a compromise between making up rules and using clever tactics.
October 31 Coppelion Ep. 4 Dying to atone for your mistakes won’t solve anything. Dedicate your life to solving the problems you’ve caused.
Coppelion Ep. 5 Necessity is the mother of all invention and finding ways to survive in a radioactive wasteland is a force for motivation.
Kyoukai no Kanata Ep. 5 I’m glad to see that Mirai and Mitsuki have found their self confidence and allowed themselves to make some friends.
November 1 Nagi no Asu Kara Ep. 5 On one hand there is a push to safeguard the community of the sea, but it can’t come at the cost of others’ happiness.
November 2 Outbreak Company Ep. 4 Even if you’re trying to help them some people can’t take a hint. I admit that I’m occasionally one of those people.
Yuushibu Ep. 3 For as silly and ecchi as this series is, it really excels at putting a fantasy-world twist on just about every aspect of daily life.
Yuushibu Ep. 4 Unlike in America, Japanese culture has a hard time accepting that it’s possible for a man and a woman to just be friends.
Yuushibu Ep. 5 Usually the clueless girl seems like she’s being taken advantage of, but Fino is sinister enough to take care of herself.
Freezing Vibration Ep. 4 The writing tries too hard to be dramatic, but as ecchi action series go I’m enjoying it more than Kill la Kill.
Freezing Vibration Ep. 5 No one person can defeat the monsters that lurk within society. It takes the effort of many to change hearts.

Leave a Reply

